Children give up their dreams to please their parents, parents give up their lives in order to please their children; pain and suffering are used to justify the one thing that should bring only love.

My parents had started planning my future even before I was born… just like any other parents… they dreamed their child to be… well educated and grounded with values. So right from the very beginning of my birth, they started infusing values in me…. they dreamed high for their daughter.

Unaware of their high dreams and aspirations for me, I built up my own dreamland… a passion for my own life. Following the path chosen by my parents at start… I made a way for myself… slowly and gradually… I understood… to survive in this world… one has to have a great career… You have to prove your worth… else the world around you would not accept you as part of their league.  Since start, I was always told that whatever I want or wish for is simply impossible… Nobody gets everything! “well, a great career? But I am dumb at almost all things… What am i gonna do? :-o”  and with almost no hopes of a good career and future… I pursued my studies.

At start, I aspired to be doctor… Wow.. the word sounded great… “I am Doctor”…all respect Doctors… I will wear white coat… with stethoscope… curing the poor and ill ones. Wooooow Angel me O:)  But that dream looked almost impossible every time I looked at my report card. *Sigh* those red marks 😐

Then, I thought, perhaps… I can look upto a career in law. “Awesome, black looks great on me… And I can argue all day long without any substantial facts or figures… But, I am disastrous and worst at manipulation.” and, even that dream too faded away almost immediately. :-ss

A human being without any aspiration or dreams in life… “Shit! what a waste I am!” I would tell myself.

Suddenly one day… an idea of becoming an actress popped up in my useless mind. “That’s the career for those who can’t do anything besides throwing tantrums… wooow perfect for me” I thought *Blush* :|…That dream too died quite early… as ahem ahem… no talents+no brains+no figure=Me 😮

“So, what’s your plan to pursue after your twelfth? Preparing for PMT? CPMT? AIEEE?” Everyone would ask me.

“Yes I am preparing” I would reply, having absolutely no idea of what am I preparing for! *Dud*

Sometimes, in all the rush of life it’s easier to listen to everyone around but our own heart. I took a time off… And just after I completed my senior secondary… I decided, “yes, I am completely clueless of my career, But all I am going to do now is follow my heart. Let it lead…” It did lead me through all the thick and thin… it did take me through hard paths… I did take wrong turns… but it always brought me back on the right path… and is still leading. Journey looked beautiful and whatever I did bring contentedness.

The topic of this post is not my struggle for career, or blabber about how courageous I’ve been in following the path. But, this post is for those who have lost themselves to the certainties of life… and have stopped chasing destiny and their dreams.

We are often being asked to be logical, practical, matured and sophisticated in life… to kill all the dreams and lead the life chosen by others. Each one of us have to prove our worth to the world… a life has to be justified… so join the rat race… have a great professional career.. get married at right age… make children before you are old… and then work like a dog all your life for those children so that one day they can throw you out of the house.

Do we really need to have a long, relaxed and miserable life or all we need is a short, exciting and content life????!!!!!!

I am not telling people to not pursue a good career, or not to get married or do not make babies… But to see life as a great… grand adventure. Why do we all surrender ourselves to the certainties of life…? Why do we not dream and demand from life what we really want…? Why do we consider ourselves as a victim of situations… and hence wise, fair and correct in asking so little of life??

I remember a line from The Alchemist when the monks says that he’s been given much more beyond his generosity…and The Alchemist replies: “Don’t say that again. Life might be listening, and give you less next time.”

Follow your heart, live your dreams.

Dreams, they just grow… they just flourish… the more you suppress them… the more you kill your own soul. Dreams, are foolish, illogical… completely ridiculous. Yes! the more crazy… the more impossible they are… The more fun it is to live them and fulfill them.

When we renounce our dreams and find peace, we find tranquility for short period. But those dead dreams begin to rot inside us. We become cruel to those around us, and then we begin to direct this cruelty against ourselves. That’s when illnesses and psychoses arise. Slowly those dead and spoiled dreams make it difficult to breathe and we seek is death. And one day we wake up and there is no time to do thing we always wanted to do… there are not the same people… not be same adventures…. things change.

We shall walk as long as possible.. till the end… play the game till final stage. So, when we are old… we can narrate those long.. exciting, extraordinary and adventurous tales to our children and later grand children. We all shall die one day… but stories will be different for all!

Peruvian priest Clemente Sobrado wrote an interesting piece, which is transcribed below:

One of the biggest problems that we drag around with us all our life is to want to believe we have “enough”. We are surrounded by certainties, and nobody wants someone showing up to propose something new. If we could only suspect that we don’t have everything, and that we aren’t all that we could be!
Maybe we are all faced with a very serious problem, namely that although we have the opportunity to help one another, the truth is that few people let themselves be helped.
Why is that? Because they think they have “enough things”. They already know everything, they are always right, they feel comfortable in their lives.
Almost all of us are like that: we have many things but few aspirations. We have many ideas already sorted out, and we don’t want to give them up. Our life scheme is already organized and we don’t need someone trying to make changes.
We’ve done enough praying, practiced charity, read the lives of the saints, gone to Mass, taken communion. A friend of mine once said: “I don’t know why I come to visit you, father. I am already a good Christian.”
On that day I could not help answering:
“Then don’t come to visit me, because there are a lot of people waiting to see me and they are all full of doubts. But one thing you ought to know: You aren’t bad enough to be bad, nor good enough to be good, nor holy enough to work miracles.
“You are just a Christian satisfied with what you have achieved. And all those who are satisfied have in fact renounced the ideal of always improving. Let’s talk about this some other time, all right?”
Ever since then, whenever we speak on the telephone he starts by saying: “this person who is calling hasn’t yet grown up as much as he could”.
Lord, give us always a dissatisfied heart.
Give us a heart where the questions that we never want to ask can be voiced.
Deliver us from our conformism.
Make us able to enjoy what we have, but let us understand that this is not everything.
Let us appreciate that we are good people.
But above all, make us always ask ourselves how we can become better people.
Because if we ask, then it is quite possible that You will come and show us horizons that we couldn’t see before.

Coming back to where I started from… in both the situations, where we chase our dreams or live the dreams of our parents… we are living our legends… as long as we strive to become better and are always hungry to learn more.

Concluding this with two small stories.. 🙂

What’s the price?

“Is the price of living a dream much higher than the price of living without daring to dream?” asked the disciple.
The master took him to a clothes store. There, he asked him to try on a suit in exactly his size. The disciple obeyed, and was very amazed at the quality of the clothes.
Then the master asked him to try on the same suit – but this time a size much bigger than his own. The disciple did as he was asked.
“This one is no use. It’s too big.”
“How much are these suits?” the master asked the shop attendant.
“They both cost the same price. It’s just the size that is different.”
When leaving the store, the master told his disciple, “Living your dream or giving it up also costs the same price, which is usually very high. But the first lets us share the miracle of life, and the second is of no use to us.”

The Search of the Path

“I am willing to leave everything. Please, take me as a disciple.”
“How does a man choose his Path?”
“Through sacrifice. A path that demands sacrifice is a true path.”
The abbot bumped into a bookcase. A very rare vase fell down and the young man threw himself to the floor to pick it up. He fell the wrong way and broke his arm. But he was able to save the vase.
“Which sacrifice is greater, to see the vase breaking down our breaking an arm to save it?”
“I don’t know.”
“So then, do not try to guide your choice through sacrifice. The path is chosen by our capacity of compromising with each step we make while we walk.”

P.S This Post is dedicated to Sumanto and Regina. Cheers Guys! 😉

